Filipino-Australian artists are vying in three categories of the prestigious Mo Awards, a first in the awards’ history.

One of the major events in the Australian entertainment world is the annual recognition of artists for excellence in live performances through this much-anticipated event.

In Category 3 – Best Variety/Vocal Group, The Lions Den – Daniel Mallari Group is listed as number five in that award. The Lions Den which  is a trio of three individually acclaimed Filipinos based in the Gold Coast comprised of  Joel Gonzales, Daniel Mallari and Lloyd Saniel. Their repertoire includes songs from the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s of notable artists such as The Platters, The Everly Brothers, The Drifters, Bee Gees, The Beatles, Righteous Brothers, Roy Orbison The Temptations, Four Tops and Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons.

A very popular show in the Filipino-Australian and the wider community is Manila By Night.  The show which has been running for more than twenty years is headlined by the talented and versatile performer Lillian de los Reyes.   Lillian enthrals her audiences with her impeccable cover of songs by Shirley Bassey, Tina Turner and various well known Filipino singers. Manila By Night is listed second in the nominations in Category 11 – International Theme Show Performer.

Category 23 – Ricky May Male Vocal Performer lists Daniel Mallari in the number one spot of five nominees.    This award was named after Ricky May who was a highly celebrated cabaret performer who captured the hearts of many Australians during the late 70’s – early 80’s. Daniel Mallari who performs in clubs around Australia, as well as in liner cruises, is well known as Popera Artiste/Singer.  His repertoire includes pop, opera, standard, rock,  and jazz.

The prestigious Mo Awards started off as NSW Star Awards in 1975.  It was originally instituted to give recognition to live entertainment in NSW but evolved to cover the whole of Australia when Johnny O’Keefe was elected as President.  During that time, another known personality in the entertainment world, tv compere Don Lane, suggested to name the awards after the first known vaudevillian/comedian in the 20th century, Mo McCackie, who entertained through the Depression years.

The winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony to be held on Tuesday, 27th May 2014 at Bankstown Sports Club.  The event will be hosted by Andrew O'Keffe, Marcia Hines and John Mangos.

Leave a Comment

Word Count: 0